Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
In October 2009 the State of Maryland authorized the use of Automated Speed Monitoring Systems (speed cameras) in School and Highway Work Zones. The system uses radar technology to measure the speed of every vehicle that passes the camera. Vehicles found to be exceeding the posted speed limit by at least 12 miles per hour will be photographed to document the violation and determine the vehicle’s registered owner. After the violation is reviewed and approved by a deputized Officer, a citation, including the violation photos and the vehicle’s speed, will be sent to the registered owner.
Speeding is a serious problem Nationwide. In 2007, Speed-related crashes accounted for 28% of all Maryland traffic fatalities. According to the Federal Government, almost half of all speeding fatalities occurred on local and collector roads which are generally low speed roads found in business and residential areas. The Easton Police Department and Town officials are using this technology as a tool to assist Police in enforcing posted speed limits, ensuring the safety of both our children and citizens.
“Photo Enforced” signs will be placed beneath the school zone signs alerting drivers that speed cameras may be in use.
The maximum fine is $40 for each violation and is stated on the citation. Since the violations are being treated as civil and not criminal violations, no license points are assessed and vehicle insurance providers are not notified.
You must pay the civil penalty on or before the due date indicated on the citation.
Two options are available: pay the fine or contest the citation.
Log on to SpeedViolation by entering the Citation Number and License Plate Number noted on your citation. There is a $3.50 convenience fee for paying on-line, assessed at the time of payment.
Mail your check or money order (payable to the Easton Photo Enforcement Program) in the return envelope provided. Be sure to include the payment stub from the bottom of the notice you received along with your payment. Please do not send cash.
A toll free number has been established specifically for Easton and is noted on the citation. Payments will be accepted between the hours of 9 am to 4 pm (EST). VISA and MasterCard are accepted and there is a $3.50 convenience fee for the service. A transaction confirmation number will be provided, as well as an email confirmation for your permanent records if you wish.
Any vehicle owner who receives a citation has the option to contest. Citations may be contested in Maryland District Court, and detailed instructions are included on each citation.
The speed monitoring system operator is not required to be in court. However, you may request the presence of the operator by submitting a written request for the operator’s presence no later than 20 days before your scheduled court date.
If your vehicle and/or license plates were stolen when the infraction took place you should request an in-person hearing. Enclose a copy of the police report for the vehicle/plates with the request.
If you, as the registered owner of the vehicle, were not operating the vehicle at the time of the infraction, you should request a court hearing on the front of the citation and follow the instructions.
You are eligible to Transfer Liability if you fall into one of the following categories:
Examples of corroborating evidence which have been acceptable to the District Court:
If your request is denied for any reason the citation will be reissued to the registered owner and you will be responsible for payment.
Failure to pay the civil penalty or to contest liability prior to the due-by date on the citation is an admission of liability and will result in late penalties. Continued failure to pay may result in the refusal or suspension of the motor vehicle registration.
No. Once you have paid a fine it is considered an admission of liability and requests to contest or schedule a hearing will not be granted.
No. An admission of liability will not result in points and cannot be used to increase your insurance rates.
Images of your vehicle were captured and recorded by an Automated Speed Photo Enforcement System which uses a Doppler radar to track all vehicles as they pass through the detection zone. The speed of each vehicle is calculated using the “Doppler Shift” and confirmed using a time over distance calculation to verify accuracy. The unit is calibrated and tested daily, and undergoes an Annual Calibration Verification by an independent test laboratory.
If the vehicle is found to be exceeding the posted speed limit, a series of images are taken. These images passed a two part review process by qualified technicians before being submitted to the Easton Police Department for final review and approval. The alleged Speed Monitoring System Citation is then mailed to the registered owner or identified driver. Confirmation of the owner’s name, address and vehicle registration information was provided to the Police Department by the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration.
No. Individuals applying for a Driver’s License are agreeing to abide by the established Rules of the Road. Speed Enforcement Cameras only capture images of vehicles whose drivers have chosen to violate the established laws by speeding, and according to established Court doctrine, individuals who are breaking the law forfeit their privacy rights.
Speed Enforcement Cameras may be operational between the hours of 6 am to 8 pm, Monday through Friday.
The School Zones being enforced within the Town will be designated by very visible signs.
Any streets within a half-mile radius of a school are eligible for Speed Photo Enforcement. These include (but are not limited to) the following:
Effective September 25, 2019 the Town Code has incorporated the following referenced codes for the Town of Easton:
The state adopted these codes as a part of the Maryland Building Performance Standard and are required by the Annotated Code of Maryland 12-505(a)(1)(ii) to be adopted by local jurisdictions within six months of the State’s effective date.
Previous codes unchanged during this adoption cycle include:
The current average application processing times, from the date of receipt to the issuance of a permit are as follows:
Application processing time has several variables that may affect the time periods indicated above. Some of those variables are:
An applicant can make sure, prior to making an application, that all prior approvals have been received from the Planning and Zoning offices for subdivisions, developments and historic districts.
In completing the application, be sure that the contractor information is completed and that those contractors have the required license for the project. Also include Engineered Truss Drawings and Sprinkler Shop Drawing-Hydraulic Calculations with the application should these systems be a component of the project.
During the application process an applicant can also make the necessary payments for Talbot County Impact Fees and any capital charges with Easton Utilities.
You will need to know the following to calculate permit fees:
For existing buildings you will need to refine the Building Total Gross Area to the Total Gross Work Area and also determine the Classification of the Work.
Once you have all of this information, see the Schedule of Fees and the Square Foot Construction Costs links under the Information section to the left. The equation can be outlined as:
Building Gross Area or Gross Work Area × Classification of Work × Construction Square Foot Costs × 0.008 = Permit Fees Amount
The Building Inspection Division determines the cost of all permits however if you are having difficulty or have a complex project with multiple aspects please contact the Building Inspection Division. Please remember that additional fees such as plan review fees, certificate fees and home builder guarantee fees may need to be added to the permit fees for the final cost of a building permit.
Plumbing, Mechanical and Electrical Applications shall be completed with the Town of Easton prior to commencing any work. If necessary a plumbing, mechanical or electrical permit will be issued outlining the scope covered by the permit and the required inspections. Once a required permit is obtained work may commence.
All existing buildings are regulated by the “Maryland Building Rehabilitation Code” under Comar 05.16.01. The Maryland Building Rehabilitation Code incorporates the International Existing Building Code 2015 which provides flexibility in compliancy with modern building codes for all existing buildings. This code also applies to Existing Buildings; undergoing a Change of Use, being Relocated or Moved and all aspects of Historic Buildings.
This is a Change of Use and Occupancy for the building or space. A determination needs to be made regarding the hazard classification of this change. If there is no increase in the hazard classification then a new Certificate of Occupancy may be issued including the new tenant information.
If there is an increase in hazard classification a building analysis needs to be completed by a registered design professional to determine if any alterations are necessary.
Please contact the Code Enforcement Department regarding any Change of Use and Occupancy of your building or space.
Yes, for Land Surveyors, Engineers and Architects, however there are a few exceptions to the need for a professional Architect. They are as follows:
Yes, a submission of a MECcheck or COMcheck to certify compliance with the International Energy Conservation Code shall be required by the Town of Easton Building Inspection Division to certify that the project shall conform to the provisions of the International Energy Conservation Code.
If performance based provisions are used the applicant will need to submit documentation prepared by a registered design professional providing certification that it conforms to the provisions of the Code. Model home designs using the performance based options with several floor plan options must submit the appropriate documentation for each individual house design.
Answer goes here...
small appliances, limit 2ft. x 2ft., 35lbs. No wood, plastic or rubber attachments.
Flatten items less than 3 feet by 3 feet.
Yes you may purchase an additional tipper cart for a onetime fee. Contact Public Works at 410-822-0513.
No, you will not be charged an additional monthly fee for an additional tippers cart.
Yes, only in a clear plastic bag. Any recyclables placed out for pickup, in a bag that is not clear, will not be picked up.
No, we will only pickup household garbage that is placed in the tipper cart; any household garbage placed outside of the tipper cart will not be picked up.
You can call Public Works, at 410-822-0513 and we will contact the Recycling Contractor to schedule it to be picked up (on a non-abusive basis).
Yes, if it is a major holiday it will move ahead by a day. There is a yearly calendar schedule posted on the Town of Easton website.
All single family and multifamily (duplexes and small apartment buildings) residential unit will receive a 65 gallon tipper cart. All complex units will receive 18 gallon carts and will either have a recycling dumpster or multiple tipper carts to dispose their recycling into. Commercial units will receive 95 gallon tipper carts. Townhomes that do not have a garage or have been deemed by the Town of Easton, as not having sufficient storage for a tipper cart, will receive an 18 gallon cart.
No, all complex units and town homes, which do not have a garage or have been deemed by the Town of Easton, as not having sufficient storage for a tipper cart, will receive an 18 gallon cart.
Yes, you can contact the Town of Easton Public Works Department at 410-822-0513 and request that the recycling tipper cart be retrieved by the town.
Yes, the property will still be charged for the service whether you participate or not.
No, the Contractor will pick up recycling items on Town of Easton observed Holidays with the exception of:
On these holidays the Contractor will move the pickup day ahead. Please refer to Recycling Calendar (PDF).